The Garlic Shuttle

Being a Sunday morning, my domestic- Sonia wasn’t around. I had to ready the water for coffee on my own. Some noise had disturbed my sleep. It was only 8.30am. What an unearthly hour to wake up at!

Rattle! Crack! Thud!

It’s summer already. Mornings are still somewhat bearable. Musing about the luxury of sipping a hot beverage in cold weather, I stepped out of my bedroom.

More rattling… more cracking… more thuds…

That weird noise was more pronounced in the kitchen. These 1st floor guys are so restless. Ever since they have shifted here, they’ve hardly ever been quiet. Banging almost every door at odd hours seemed to be their pass time. Muttering under my breath, I went to floss. That noise was now grown into a constant buzz!

Nevermind that! It’s Coffee time.

What the heck! Why hadn’t Sonia put the garlic bulbs in the hanging basket? One forgetful, careless and deaf woman I have almost adopted- that she is. But these weren’t there when I had sat the water to boil.

“Quick! Get into the pod!”

How could a garlic pod refer to a pod peel as the “pod”? Wait a minute; did I hear the pod talking now?

That’s exactly what happens when you watch too many sci- fi movies, back to back with extra dose of Ben 10 thrown in!

Arrgghh…

While pouring the hot water over the coffee powder in a mug, I noticed some of the pods zipping their peels on them.

What!!!

I couldn’t believe that was happening again. I must be dreaming. The pods lay scattered across the kitchen table. This was certainly not how it was when I had first stepped in here. Within a few seconds the pods were assembled as a bulb. I must have lost my mind. I bet I saw the stick glowing too! The bulbs stood still on the roots which supported the garlic to stand erect.

“We are ready to leave!”

Crash, they break the kitchen window glass and fly away!

***RING***

My cellphone alarm woke me up. It was set for 9.30am so I would have half hour before getting ready to watch Ben 10.

Rattle! Crack! Thud!

I smiled recalling the dream sequence. I sat some water for my coffee. The garlic pods lay scattered on the kitchen table. It seemed that Sonia indeed had forgotten to hang those in the basket. What is she upto really? Pigeons had already emptied the bird bath. I opened the veranda glass door to step out to refill their bucket.

More rattling… more cracking… more thuds…

Could I be imagining or was it really happening? My eyes stretched wide in shock. The pods were indeed arranging themselves in a bulb! I blinked furiously. Was I still dreaming? Pinching myself didn’t help. All I could was gasp in bewilderment.

Zzzzzaaaaaaap!

One of the garlic space-ship went past my head crashing the glass of the window. Maybe, I was imagining things.

Or maybe not!

Almost at once, all the garlic bulbs started to spin over the kitchen table. Circling over the counter-top for a few seconds, those were forming a queue.

One by one, all of those zoomed past me.

(Originally published here)

 

About Olivia

Corporate worker, textile designer, writer.
This entry was posted in Story and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

